Beethoven: Mass in C (LSO, Sir Colin Davis)

Release Date: September 1, 2008

0 Comments | Categories: , | Tags: , ,

Sir Colin Davis conductor
Sally Matthews soprano
Sara Mingardo contralto
John Mark Ainsley tenor

‘A dramatic performance of a dramatic work’
International Record Review

‘Davis…brings out all the humanity and tenderness of the music with his customary skill … another winner from LSO Live’
Classic FM Magazine

Commissioned by Prince Nikolaus Esterházy II to celebrate his wife’s name-day in 1807, Beethoven’s early Mass in C contains some of the composer’s most sublime music for voices. Although his original treatment of the text distressed the Prince at its premiere, the Mass is now regarded as one of Beethoven’s most moving works.

  • Buy Now

Signup to Event
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]
Request Music

    Your Music Information (*)

    Your Name (*)

    Your Choir (*)

    Your Postal Address (*)

    Your Email (*)

    Your Phone (*)

    Period Required (*)

    Special requests, number of copies, etc

    Your request will be sent to the LSC Librarian. Sending this request does not constitute a booking and availability is not guaranteed. Please wait confirmation before making any arrangements.