LSO / Bychkov / Mahler: Symphony No. 2

February 4, 2018 - 7:00 pm 8:30 pm

Posted By Jo Buchan

Categories: , ,

Mahler’s Symphony No. 2 known (although not by the composer) as the “Resurrection Symphony” was written between 1888 and 1894 with a first performance in 1895.  The symphony is in five movements and the chorus sings in the final movement only.

The symphony is written on a truly colossal scale with “the largest possible contingent of strings”.  It also includes two solo voices, on this occasion the soprano Christiane Karg and also Anna Larsson.

A performance of this symphony is always a special event, but with Semyon Bychkov at the helm of the London Symphony Orchestra it promises to be something very special indeed.  Mahler himself wrote of the piece, and in particular the last choral movement: “The increasing tension, working up to the final climax, is so tremendous that I don’t know myself, now that it is over, how I ever came to write it”.

  • Location

  • Barbican, Silk Street, London, EC2Y 8DS, United Kingdom
  • Booking Now
Signup to Event
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]
Request Music

    Your Music Information (*)

    Your Name (*)

    Your Choir (*)

    Your Postal Address (*)

    Your Email (*)

    Your Phone (*)

    Period Required (*)

    Special requests, number of copies, etc

    Your request will be sent to the LSC Librarian. Sending this request does not constitute a booking and availability is not guaranteed. Please wait confirmation before making any arrangements.