LSO / Pappano / Liszt: Faust Symphony

November 26, 2017 - 7:00 pm 9:30 pm

Posted By Jo Buchan

Categories: , ,

In a concert that is “Total Liszt”, Antonio Pappano conducts the LSO in three contrasting works.  The programme begins with Liszt’s orchestration of Sciarrino’s “Sposalizio” followed by “Totentanz” in which the piano soloist is Alice Sara Ott.

The evening ends with Liszt’s “A Faust Symphony in Three character Sketches after Goethe: (1) Faust, (2) Gretchen, (3) Mephistopheles”.  The first two movements are purely orchestral, but the gentlemen of the London Symphony Chorus (with tenor soloist Brenden Gunnell) are employed as a ‘chorus mysticus’ in the final movement, with text from Goethe’s Faust.  The words, which are also the text of the finale of Mahler’s Symphony No. 8, emphasise the power of salvation and ultimately redemption through striving.

  • Location

  • Barbican, Silk Street, London, EC2Y 8DS, United Kingdom
  • Booking Now
Signup to Event
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]
Request Music

    Your Music Information (*)

    Your Name (*)

    Your Choir (*)

    Your Postal Address (*)

    Your Email (*)

    Your Phone (*)

    Period Required (*)

    Special requests, number of copies, etc

    Your request will be sent to the LSC Librarian. Sending this request does not constitute a booking and availability is not guaranteed. Please wait confirmation before making any arrangements.