LSO / Rattle / Genesis Suite

January 13, 2018 - 7:30 pm 10:00 pm

Posted By Jo Buchan

Categories: , ,

The London Symphony Chorus will be providing the choral element for “Genesis Suite”, a 1945 work for narrator, orchestra (on this occasion the LSO) and chorus.

This rarely performed piece is an interpretation of the first eleven chapters of the Book of Genesis, by seven different composers: (1) Arnold Schoenberg, (2) Nathaniel Shilkret, (3) Alexandre Tansman, (4) Darius Milhaud, (5) Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco, (6) Ernst Toch, (7) Igor Stravinsky.

Each of the composers writes in their own style, and the feature that unites all of them is that they were displaced from their country of birth by either persecution or war.  In this performance, conducted by Simon Rattle, the music will be accompanied by specially-created visual projections.

  • Location

  • Barbican, Silk Street, London, EC2Y 8DS, United Kingdom
  • Booking Now
Signup to Event
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]
Request Music

    Your Music Information (*)

    Your Name (*)

    Your Choir (*)

    Your Postal Address (*)

    Your Email (*)

    Your Phone (*)

    Period Required (*)

    Special requests, number of copies, etc

    Your request will be sent to the LSC Librarian. Sending this request does not constitute a booking and availability is not guaranteed. Please wait confirmation before making any arrangements.