LSO / Tilson Thomas / Ives: A Symphony – New England Holidays

June 2, 2019 - 7:00 pm 9:00 pm

Posted By Jo Buchan

Categories: , ,

The concert at the Barbican on Sunday, 2nd June will inevitably be dominated by Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 5 (the so-called Emperor Concerto) with Daniil Trifonov as soloist in a concerto that requires a pianist of exceptional capability.

The evening begins with Michael Tilson Thomas conducting the LSO and LSC in the rarely-performed Ives’ A Symphony: New England Holidays.

The four movements coincide with each season: winter, spring, summer and autumn respectively.  as Ives dictates in his “Memos”: “There is no special musical connection among these four movements . . . which leads me to observe that quite a number of larger forms (symphonies, sonatas, suites, etc.) may not always necessarily form, or were originally intended to form, such a complete organic whole that the breath of unity is smothered all out if one or two movements are played separately sometimes.”

Each movement contains the shared “pattern of splicing introverted slow music and extroverted fast music”.

  • Location

  • Barbican, Silk Street, London, EC2Y 8DS, United Kingdom
  • Booking Now
Signup to Event
[contact-form-7 404 "Not Found"]
Request Music

    Your Music Information (*)

    Your Name (*)

    Your Choir (*)

    Your Postal Address (*)

    Your Email (*)

    Your Phone (*)

    Period Required (*)

    Special requests, number of copies, etc

    Your request will be sent to the LSC Librarian. Sending this request does not constitute a booking and availability is not guaranteed. Please wait confirmation before making any arrangements.